War & Peace

Do you know Isaac Babel? It doesn’t matter if you don’t(He was a Russian journalist anyway).What I want to talk about is what he said after he finished reading the book “War and Peace”. He said ” If the world could write by itself, it would write like Tolstoy”. And I think this is a good and brief description of Tolstoy’s power as an author.

wp

Reading “War and Peace” was difficult but enjoyable. You know how you always feel guilty for not reading some very famous and lengthy classic books ? “War and Peace” was one of these books on my list that I finally finished reading in spring this year. The moment I finished it, I wanted to write about it in the blog but then I thought it is one of those experiences which needs to become settled in my mind before I can talk about it.

“War and Peace” is undoubtedly a masterpiece. Tolstoy’s narration is so smooth and  easy to follow and after a few pages you will find yourself  moving from one story to another and becoming familiar with each family and its members. It also includes some very detailed descriptions of historical events in Russia.

After reading the book I also watched the movie adaptations and while the BBC adaptation was not what I expected, I liked this movie.

Have you read this book? I would like to here your ideas in comments.

Leave a comment